William Ludwig Lutgens: The bigger the short, the sweeter the bottom

As of March 2022, the Museum Hof van Busleyden will be undergoing restoration. The permanent exhibition will therefore not be accessible for some time. More information .

De Garage - 18.03.2022– 29.05.2022

Interest in the work of William Ludwig Lutgens (°1991, Turnhout) has grown rapidly in recent times. The Bigger the Short, the Sweeter the Bottom is the most multifaceted exhibition of his works to date. Considerations of freedom and repression take centre-stage in this colourful, at times satirical exhibition.

Life-sized dummies dressed as upper-middle-class administrators create a human wall. They are held in place by pillories or demonstrate peacefully on a slogan-spewing pick-up truck. The dummies occupy the space at times in protest, at times in shame.

Alongside a series of new paintings, the Clinking Clanking Clunking exhibition is a real eye-catcher. This playful but absurd version of musical chairs was recently purchased for the SMAK collection by the Government of Flanders.

Lutgens’ body of work consists of paintings, drawings, sculptures, installations and publications, all of which poke fun and encourage disruption. His work is fuelled by a constant stream of information, in which he melds fact with fiction and newsflashes rife with uncensored thoughts, dreams and fantasies. With them he exposes the grotesque, obscene and perverse aspects of his culture and society and stares them right in the face.

 

About the artist

William Ludwig Lutgens gained two arts master’s from Sint-Lucas Antwerp and finished his post-graduate studies at the HISK in Ghent in 2017. The course, which has launched graduates into the international art world since 1997, is soon to be discontinued. Lutgens followed his artistic career with art residences in Barcelona, Congo and Seoul, the latter being his main source of inspiration for this exhibition. He has had two solo exhibitions at PLUS-ONE Gallery and scooped several arts prizes, including the Gaver Prize for painting and the Eeckman Art Prize.

Book your ticket

William Ludwig Lutgens: The bigger the short, the sweeter the bottom

À partir de mars 2022, le musée Hof van Busleyden sera en cours de restauration. L'exposition permanente n'est pas accessible pour le moment. En savoir plus .

De Garage - 18.03.2022– 29.05.2022

L’œuvre de William Ludwig Lutgens (1991, Turnhout) est récemment devenue plus prolixe. The Bigger the Short, the Sweeter the Bottom est donc son exposition la plus diversifiée à ce jour. Les considérations sur la liberté et la répression sont au cœur de cette exposition haute en couleur, parfois satirique.

Des mannequins grandeur nature habillés comme des employés de bureau de la classe moyenne supérieure forment un mur humain. Ils sont maintenus en place par des piloris ou manifestent pacifiquement sur un pick-up crachant des slogans. Les mannequins occupent l’espace tour à tour pour y protester ou y être humiliés.

Aux côtés d’une série de nouvelles peintures, l’installation Clinking Clanking Clunking est l’un des clous de cette exposition. Cette version ludique mais absurde des chaises musicales a été récemment achetée par le Gouvernement flamand pour les collections du SMAK.

L’œuvre de Lutgens se compose de peintures, de dessins, de sculptures, d’installations et de publications teintées d’humour et incitant à la disruption. Son travail est alimenté par un flux continu d’informations, où se mêlent faits et fictions, reportages et pensées, rêves et fantasmes non censurés. Il y expose le grotesque, l’obscène et le pervers de sa culture et de sa société et les regarde en face, sans filtres.

À propos de l’artiste

William Ludwig Lutgens a décroché deux masters artistiques à Sint-Lucas à Anvers et a terminé la formation de post-graduat à l’HISK de Gand fin 2017. Depuis 1997, cette formation a lancé de nombreux lauréats dans le monde de l’art international, mais elle disparaîtra bientôt. Lutgens a poursuivi sa carrière artistique dans le cadre de résidences d’artistes à Barcelone, au Congo et à Séoul, cette dernière, surtout, étant devenue une source d’inspiration pour cette exposition. Il a déjà présenté deux expositions personnelles à la galerie PLUS-ONE et a remporté plusieurs prix d’art, dont le prix Gaver pour la peinture et l’Eeckman Art Prize.


Réservez votre billet