Ricardo Brey: Gap in the Clouds

As of March 2022, the Museum Hof van Busleyden will be undergoing restoration. The permanent exhibition will therefore not be accessible for some time. More information .

Museum Hof van Busleyden - 20.05.2022 – 28.08.2022

Through Gap in the Clouds Ricardo Brey makes a positive statement and gives a ray of hope in these turbulent times. Brey was inspired to create a series of introspective works after experiencing the pandemic and the emotive race and gender equality protests. The new work is conscious of the past, but turns a brave face to the future.

In his work Ricardo Brey draws inspiration from the strength and depth of Afro-Cuban culture, from his personal recollections and from myth, legend and stories. In this exhibition the centrepiece is the Every Life is a Fire series: surprise and wonder evoked by a line of sealed boxes. Their opening is a ritual in itself, that focuses the mind on what is happening.

Book your ticket

Sapphire Fluid, 2021 - Courtesy of the Artist and Alexander Gray Associates, New York - © 2022 Ricardo Brey/Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York 

Family tour

Discover the exhibition together with children in our family tour. Cards take you on a journey through the wonderful world of artist Ricardo Brey. With mysterious boxes filled with dreams, turtles and special butterflies. The details of the artworks take you on a quest with various missions. Featuring the theme of blue, butterflies and mystery boxes, this is a family tour to experience together. The tour is included in your admission ticket. Children up to the age of 12 visit the museum free of charge.

Guided tour 

In the company of a guide, immerse yourself in the world of the Cuban-Belgian artist Ricardo Brey and his exhibition Gap in the Clouds. An exhibition that seeks to be a positive statement and a sign of hope in these troubled times.  

Practical information

  • Guided tour with a professional guide
  • Duration of the visit: 60 minutes
  • Min. 10, max. 15 participants per guide
  • Cost: ticket (10 euros per participant) and guide (80 euros per guide)
  • Guided tours are available in English.
  • Reservation via Visit Mechelen.

About the artist

Cuba-born artist, Ricardo Brey (°1955, Havana), has been in Belgium since 1990, when he was invited by Jan Hoet to take part in Documenta IX in Kassel. Brey has garnered a variety of prizes and exhibition awards including the Flemish Visual Arts Prize and an exhibition at the Guggenheim in New York. Ricardo Brey is an artist of international standing and was a member of the Venice Biennale in 2015.

Ricardo Brey: Gap in the Clouds

À partir de mars 2022, le musée Hof van Busleyden sera en cours de restauration. L'exposition permanente n'est pas accessible pour le moment. En savoir plus .

Museum Hof van Busleyden - 20.05.2022 – 28.08.2022

Avec Gap in the Clouds, l'artiste fait une déclaration positive et émet un signe d'espoir en ces temps troublés. La pandémie mondiale de coronavirus et le déferlement des protestations en faveur de l'égalité raciale et de l’égalité des genres ont incité Ricardo Brey à créer une série d'oeuvres introspectives. De nouveaux travaux qui font référence au passé mais osent aussi se tourner vers l'avenir.

Dans son travail, Ricardo Brey s'inspire de la richesse de la culture afro-cubaine, de ses souvenirs personnels et des mythes, légendes et histoires. Le clou de cette exposition est la série Every Life is a Fire, une série de boîtes fermées qui suscitent surprise et émerveillement. L'ouverture de ces boîtes est un rituel en soi, qui nous fait réfléchir à ce qui se déroule sous nos yeux.

Réservez votre billet


Parcours familiale

Découvrir l'exposition Gap in the Clouds avec votre famille? Un jeu de cartes vous fait voyager dans le monde merveilleux de l'artiste Ricardo Brey. Avec des boîtes mystérieuses remplies de rêves, de tortues et de papillons spéciaux. Les détails des œuvres d'art vous entraînent dans une quête aux missions variées. Sur le thème du bleu, des papillons et des boîtes mystérieuses, c'est un parcours familial à vivre ensemble. Le parcours est inclus dans votre billet d'entrée. Les enfants jusqu'à 12 ans visitent le musée gratuitement.

Visite guidée 

En compagnie d'un guide, plongez dans l'univers de l'artiste cubano-belge Ricardo Brey et de son exposition Gap in the Clouds. Une exposition qui cherche à être une déclaration positive et un signe d'espoir en ces temps troublés.  

Informations pratiques

  • Visite guidée avec un guide professionnel
  • Durée de la visite : 60 minutes
  • Min. 10, max. 15 participants par guide
  • Coût : billet (10 euros par participant) et guide (80 euros par guide)
  • Des visites guidées sont disponibles en français. Reservation auprès de Visit Mechelen.

A propos de l'artiste

Natif de Cuba, l'artiste Ricardo Brey (1955, La Havane) vit en Belgique depuis 1990, après l’invitation de Jan Hoet à participer à la Documenta IX à Kassel. Au cours de sa carrière, Ricardo Brey a reçu divers prix et bourses, dont le Vlaamse Beeldende Kunstprijs (Prix flamand des arts plastiques) et une bourse du Guggenheim à New York. Ricardo Brey est un artiste de renommée internationale qui exposait encore à la Biennale de Venise en 2015.