Paul Casaer: All we can get

As of March 2022, the Museum Hof van Busleyden will be undergoing restoration. The permanent exhibition will therefore not be accessible for some time. More information .

De Garage - 25.09.2021 - 21.11.2021

All we can get, the title of Paul Casaer’s exhibition at De Garage, can be read in several ways. Inspired by those all-you-can-eatformulas in restaurants, the title denounces our human greed and thirst for ever more. Greed and consumerism seem to be controlling forces in contemporary society. All our needs are met, and yet there remains a nagging sense of emptiness. Is that all there is? Is this all we can get?

Artist Paul Casaer observes and captures our ambivalent world and mankind in the grip of confusion. At De Garage, his keen observations result in a complex and inventive exhibition, which he presents as a kind of theme park. But with little entertainment to be had. The artist investigates what lies beneath the surface of our consumer-focused society. His work questions the way we try to give meaningful connections to objects, our environment and our world.

The use of everyday objects and structures, often referring to all manner of cultural achievements, ensures that Paul Casaer's work often appears recognisable, clear and accessible. Sometimes the combination and arrangement of objects seems complacent and almost natural. In other instances, the composition of objects grates and chafes, precluding any logical or obvious connection. The sculptures seem to be full of tension, charged as they are with multiple connotations.

As a sculptor, Casaer designs his own artistic universe in which new connections emerge and where things can find themselves in a place where they don't usually belong. By aligning objects and themes, changes of scale and using both real objects and representations, he creates new meanings and connections. Like a master stylist, he succeeds in giving his art a certain elusive quality. Paul Casaer looks at the future as it is revealed in the present moment.

Paul Casaer: All we can get

De Garage - 25.09.2021 - 21.11.2021

All we can get, titre de l'exposition de Paul Casaer à De Garage, peut être interprété de différentes manières. Inspiré de l'expression all-you-can-eat, les formules à volonté dans certains restaurants, le titre dénonce la gloutonnerie humaine et notre appétit insatiable. L'avidité et le consumérisme semblent être les moteurs de la société moderne. Tous nos besoins sont satisfaits et pourtant, un sentiment de vide persistant règne toujours. Est-ce tout ? Is this all we can get ?

L'artiste Paul Casaer observe et capte notre monde ambivalent et l'homme en proie à la confusion. Ses observations pointues débouchent, à De Garage, sur une exposition complexe et inventive qu'il présente comme une sorte de parc d'animation. Bien qu'il y ait peu d'animations à découvrir. L'artiste s'interroge sur les dessous de notre société de consommation. À travers son travail, il s'interroge sur la manière dont nous essayons d'établir, entre les objets, notre environnement et notre monde des liens significatifs.

Grâce à l'utilisation d'objets et de structures du quotidien, qui font souvent référence à toutes sortes de réalisations culturelles, l'œuvre de Paul Casaer apparaît souvent reconnaissable, claire et accessible. Parfois, la combinaison et la disposition des objets semblent complaisantes, évidentes, presque. Dans d'autres cas, en l'absence totale de cohésion logique ou volontaire, l'association des objets grince et irrite. Les sculptures semblent totalement sous tension et sont chargées de connotations diverses.

En tant qu'artiste visuel, Casaer crée son propre univers artistique, animé de nouvelles connexions et dans lequel on trouve les objets là où on ne les attend pas. En associant les objets et les thèmes, en modifiant l'échelle et en utilisant à la fois des objets réels et des représentations, il crée de nouvelles significations et établit de nouveaux liens. En tant que maître en stylisme, il propose un art relativement insaisissable. Le regard que Paul Casaer pose sur l'avenir est tel qu'il se manifeste dans le moment présent.